You are here

Phantom, P38, R84

Due in part to chronic wrist injuries from years of mountain biking and road biking, I purchased my first recumbent( Lighting Phantom) last December at tender age of 63. Opting for the Velocity Fusion wheel upgrades and removal of the adjustable angle steerer and chain tensioner pully, the medium size was quite a solid ride and at about 26 lbs.; fairly light. The upright position seemed more “ power based “ if less aerodynamic but a lot safer . After knee surgery in March 5th , I started riding taking the left ( my injured knee side) crank arm off and using an old windsurfing mast adaptor as tubing I made a rest for my immobile recovering knee and took to pedaling one legged on flat surfaces. Within 6 weeks I started in easily with both legs and by the end of May got my first ½ century ride in Santa Fe. Passing all the other recumbents and staying with the top 10% was a great surprise for what I had considered a “geezer” ride (as well as a boost to the ego).
The Phantom was stable, fast and a lot of fun to ride. Since climbing hills and mountains had been my strength I wanted to upgrade to find if climbing could even improve . A P38 frame was ordered and existing parts transferred to the new frame. My initial impression was that it was not very much faster. After several rides I seemed to adapt to the new frame and saw a noticeable improvement in climbing.
After 2 months in Baja , standup paddle surfing, mt. Biking and windsurfing I was anxious to get back to this new “sit- down ride” . 3 and ½ century rides over the next month on the P38 ( I had sold the phantom) was a good test of my ability to max. out the P38. I found in the flats I would get passed by my equals on uprights and some on laid back recumbents. On the hills less than 8 degs. I could keep good pace with the uprights and pass the laid back recumbents fairly easily.