You are here

Riding Position on a P-38

Hi

I have been looking at a Easy Racer GRR or a RANS Stratus XP and have had a bit of ride of a Tour Easy and have organised a ride of Stratus XP (all local rider's bikes as we don't have a dealer in the country net alone locally).

Anyway I quite like the fairly upright riding position of the LWB bikes but I am little concerned with the day to day functionality for me of the LWB design.

From what little I can glean online and from some photos I have seen the P-38 also appears to have a fairly upright riding position, something akin to the LWB bikes. Would this be a fair comment?

I currently ride a Bacchetta Giro 20 and whilst I am still getting into the riding style I not 100% convinced it is the bike for me hence exploring other options.

The P-38 appears from my reading to maybe more suitable for me ... reasonable speed, reasonable climbing ability, more upright riding position, okay for touring and commuting etc.

Is that a fair assumption?

Thanks
Andrew

Hi Andrew,

The Lightning bikes are available with two different seats: the traditional full mesh seat, and the more recent carbon fiber seat. The full mesh puts you in a relatively heads-up seating position, while the carbon fiber hardshell seat lets you recline backward more.

I would say that the more upright seating position of the mesh seat on the Lightning is similar to the upright position on the Easy Racers and RANS Stratus bikes. But the Lightning has a higher crankset position, while the Easy Racers and RANS long bikes put the crankset much lower down.

There are advantages to the more heads-up seating position:

1) You can balance the bike more easily at low speeds by shifting your body weight (so-called body English).
2) You can pivot your head on your neck and twist your whole upper body at the waist for better peripheral vision and safety.
3) If you put a full F40 fairing on the bike, you can see over the top of your fairing-enclosed feet and knees.