You are here

stability with suspension

1995 P-38 with 17 inch suspended front wheel. I'm new to the bike so unsure, but the front end feels slightly loose. I'm getting close to being ready to take her onto descents at speed. But I don't feel confident in the front end. Two questions:

1) is the suspended front end inherently less stable overall?

2a) is it worth disassembling the front end entirely to identify any possible loose parts/pieces? OR

2b) is a 20 inch fork w/o suspension inherently more stable? If so, is it worth changing?

Thing is guys, I've been through a major, major crash on a steep incline. So to this day I have to get used to high speed descents, have to develop confidence over time in the bike. BUT, if up front there is potential for problems I want to know.

There are some tips on adjusting the suspension fork somewhere on the official Lightning website. Poke around and you will find it. It might help you.

You might also have a slightly loose headset. Sit on the bike, apply the front brake tightly, and see if you can rock the bike forward and backward a little bit. If you can, your headset may need adjustment.

When the suspension fork and headset are adjusted correctly, everything should feel just right. If you are not confident that things are OK, try talking directly to Tim Brummer at Lightning. Or perhaps you have a recumbent-friendly local bike mechanic who can lend a helping hand.

I would keep the 17" suspension fork. But make sure it is working properly. Your concern about descending at speed is fully justified.

Safe riding,
Joel

going to take it up to coventry cycles in Portland on Tues and let them check it out. i think i'm going to ask them to disassemble and reassemble the headset AND I may replace the headset. i want something that is rock solid and reliable as can be on descents because i want to let it go fast without fear.

do you have any ideas about a premium headset?

r